Ringtones Of A Tweenage Girl

So every few months when I see my niece, she gets a hold of my phone and changes all of the settings. Which sometimes I’m cool with, other times a little less so. Sometimes she picks a background that works better than the one I had, something that I can actually read the display without stopping and holding the phone up to my face and squinting to make out the time. (The zebra picture worked out really well for me, for example. The two tweenage girls making faces at the camera, a little harder to read, on the other hand).

Now, as any uncle would be, I think, I was amused when she changed my ringtone to a song by her favourite artist, “Our Song” by Taylor Swift, and so I left it on.

Now, before I go any further, I feel like I should explain something about myself. When I first moved to New Mexico in the early 90’s, a friend of mine once observed “I don’t get how you’re from Detroit, but you play country music on your guitar”. I guess he was expecting something a little more along the lines of KISS’s Detroit, Rock City, or something. But the point is, that when I lived in the city, I listened to a lot of southern rock, blues, bluegrass, and country music.

Not that I wasn’t around hard rock when I lived in the city, it just didn’t seem to resonate with me as much at the time. I used to take my acoustic guitar over and sit in during rehearsals with my buddies’ Ann Arbor thrash band, just to play along. (In fact, they considered me a blues guitarist, and when my buddy would get behind on his rent, his landlord would insist that I plug in to his Ampeg, and I’d sit in on all night long jam sessions, but I’m pretty sure that’s a whole nother story of its own). I played bass in a pretty good metal band for a while. But when it came to guitar, I ended up playing in a Southern Rock band while I lived in Detroit.

Now, I’ve had a lot of folks at various points in my life expose me to different music, for instance, the thrash and heavy metal influences of my Ann Arbor buddies, was re-introduced when I moved to Socorro, NM (where my landlord, again, considered me a blues guitarist, and turned me on to Slayer, Sepultara, Pantera), and finally the too many to list heavy metal influences I ran into living in Albuquerque.

And, that’s kind of where this little diversion rejoins the original thesis of the story. Most of the folks I worked with as a stage hand, the only band I played in while I lived in New Mexico, were into metal. From the perspective of the folks I knew, Albuquerque was a metal town, (although that’s also where I developed a love for Ranchera music, but again, another story).

So when I’m working onstage with all of my heavily tattoo’ed and heavily pierced work mates, and a Taylor Swift song busts out on my cell phone, well, it was a matter of time before I finally changed it.

Of course, I just saw my niece not too long ago, so Taylor Swift is back on my phone’s ringtone. Truth is, now I have one more reason to smile when the phone rings. \m/Yeah, Taylor!\m/ You ROCK! haha.

Leave a Reply

