The Seeds of Discontent Bear A Bitter Fruit.

When I got off the train at Grand Central in Washington, D.C. to work on the Anthrax remediation project, I bent down to tie my shoe. A little kid passing by with his mother took a mock swing at my head. I just smiled at him, but wondered, where in the hell does a little kid learn to strike out at a stranger like that?

I have a three year old nephew who frowns a lot. I don’t get it, but then when I watch the stern look on our President’s face as he gives speech after speech, I wonder. Is that the connection? There’s a problem when young kids grow up predisposed to frowning, or striking out at complete strangers. Those seeds of discontent start early, and I wish whoever was sowing them would just stop.

As a twig is bent, so grows the tree, as the saying goes.

Leave a Reply

