Climate Change Wouldn’t Have Restored Katrina’s Wetlands

Ed Spending

Sorry, kids. You can’t spend your way out of dumb.

I’m all for people using social media to make the world a better place. Really, I am. But when I hear people jetting all over the world to save the climate, saying things like “Hurricane Katrina convinced me something has to be done about climate change”, I just shake my head out loud.

The only thing that will happen if people in the business of climate change get their way, is everything, I mean everything, will cost more, and the people who have invested heavily in it will get rich. The poor people will still be poor, the levees won’t be any stronger, and nothing will have been done to address the real problems that led to Hurricane Katrina being such a catastrophic event.

If you had opposed the bailouts of Freddie Mac and Fannie Mae, you probably would have done more good to protect another catastrophe like Katrina happening than visiting many countries to understand the effects of global change, or whatever excuse you’re using.

Land development in the wetlands reduced the natural buffer to hurricanes. That was probably the leading preventable cause to what happened in New Orleans. So instead of causing every person on earth to suffer for your climate change crusade, why don’t you fix the things that we know, absolutely without a doubt, contribute to natural events turning into man-made disasters.

Let’s start with fixing the real problems, before we create hardship for everybody except those who are in the business of finding creative ways to bilk the government of tax money.

2 comments on “Climate Change Wouldn’t Have Restored Katrina’s Wetlands

  1. motownmutt says:

    And by the way, I hear the core of the earth is cooling.

  2. […] Climate Change Wouldn’t Have Restored Katrina’s Wetlands « Motor City Mongrel motownmutt.wordpress.com/2009/09/20/climate-change-wouldnt-have-restored-katrinas-wetlands – view page – cached I’m all for people using social media to make the world a better place. Really, I am. But when I hear people jetting all over the world to save the climate, saying things like “Hurricane Katrina convinced me something has to be done about climate change”, I just shake my head out loud. — From the page […]

Leave a Reply

