Social Media Club Southwest Florida’s Small Biz Meeting

I was driving around Naples running errands, and tweeting my less than favourable impressions of tourist driving. When I got home, I saw a message that if I thought tourist drivers were bad, I should try driving in Naples, to which I replied that indeed, I was. So I was invited to one of the first informal tweetups that would later become the regular coffee and social media tweetups here in Naples, Florida.

So, it turns out tonight’s speaker was also at the tweetup, which was 5 people, if I recall. The one thing that stuck with me about that meeting was that from a PR perspective, it probably would be best to not bitch too much online about tourist driving. Tourism is a significant contribution to the economy here.

The reason I bring that up, is to tie it into a single comment from tonight’s meeting: “I think of myself as an ambassador to the local area”. That’s a good way of looking at things, something to keep in mind.

5 comments on “Social Media Club Southwest Florida’s Small Biz Meeting

  1. motownmutt says:

    and something I fail at miserably, on most days. – editor

  2. Chris says:

    I’ll be needing campaign funds to continue being the ambassador. Care to make a contribution?

  3. Chris says:

    Cash and jewelry are fine.

  4. motownmutt says:

    Cash and jewelry are fine, but I can only afford accolades right now. I think they’re like avocado lemonade with a dash of piña colada. I’ll have to try one before I can tell if that’d be a worthwhile contribution.

Leave a Reply

