Social Media Skeptic

I’m just as skeptical as the next person. But one example that comes to mind is having visited with a family member who was talking about cutting off her vonage account. I suggested skype. She knew what it was, but that was about it. Fast forward a year, and she’s talking about how she makes international calls on skype. No, I don’t think it’s a result of my suggestion, rather there’s probably someone else at her company who also knew about it, and eventually it gained acceptance.

Social media is an opportunity to see what others are doing to solve common problems. In my case, I’m no expert, so my suggestions are easily dismissed. But I clearly saw something that was working for a lot of people, and even if it wasn’t taken seriously, my advice turned out to be spot on.

My advice? Don’t listen to me, listen to the people I listen to.

Leave a Reply

