Thank you. No, Thank You.

A fairly typical exchange in charity work, I’ve found.

Hope For Haiti had a volunteer appreciation luncheon yesterday. It was nice, but I almost didn’t go. I’m glad I did, but I felt a little uneasy about being thanked for doing something I feel grateful for the opportunity to do.

I’ve worked in the real world enough to know that if this was a paying gig, people would be happy to take my place. I feel grateful for an opportunity to contribute something to a well run, focused organisation.

They say it’s important to learn to take compliments well, and as awkward as I feel being thanked for something that I feel privileged to be a part of, I suppose the proper thing to do would be to humbly say “you’re welcome”. But in fact, in my heart, what I want to say is, “no, thank *you*”.

P.S. today’s the last day to vote for a chance for Hope for Haiti to receive $500 from Devoe Cadillac. You could help me thank H4H by clicking “vote”. Once, again: Thank you.

Leave a Reply

