Where We All Belong

I got out of playing in a rock n roll band back in the late eighties, early nineties. In no small part, because I couldn’t relate to some of the people showing up to hear us play. Skinheads. I never sat down and listened to what they had to say. From my perspective, they were people from somewhere else, showing up in my old neighbourhood, they were the outsiders. They didn’t belong. They were not representative of the people who lived in the neighbourhood surrounding that shitty little club. They were the anti-thesis of that community, and I knew it. I was *born* there, even if we had to leave.

So, I played in a Southern Rock band for a couple years before moving away. Always felt a connection with hard rocking music from down home folk. It fit me.

Somewhere along the line, I developed an affinity for the rebel flag; to me, representing values I could understand: “where we all belong.”

So it distresses me, to stumble across some Fucking english cunt singing neo-nazi songs using the rebel flag as a backdrop. I’m a yankee, as far as anyone from The South is concerned, but I’ll be dammed if what I like about the rebel flag has a goddam thing to do with that bullshit.

Leave a Reply

