A Single Mother’s Request

A friend came to me one day, in an agitated state. She had caught her young son playing with her makeup and trying on her high heel shoes. As a single mother, perhaps she was concerned with the lack of a male role model for her son. Her request to me was simple: “Teach him man stuff.”

Whatever labels you might attack her for having concern for her son’s upbringing, I call it a mother looking out for the best interests of her son as she sees them. If you try to paint her as some kind of bigoted monster, I think you’re full of shit, and don’t have the child’s best interests at heart. I’ll stop there before I’m tempted to start hurling the kinds of insults I see slung at people who stand up for a higher sense of values.

Leave a Reply

