Concerted Effort To Discredit Honest Questions.

I realise that the politically savvy view things like this as a “political hobby horse”, and that we should therefore stop embarrassing them, so they can continue to fight the battle they’d no doubt be winning, if it wasn’t for us “hyper-conservatives”. (whew, had to get that off my chest, back to the hobby horse).

It’s pretty plain to see that leftists are engaged in painting anyone with an honest question they want answered as a political fringe loon. Unfortunately, the politically savvy right also wants to dismiss those with legitimate questions, as “voters don’t care”, or whatnot. (Okay, maybe it wasn’t off my chest yet).

Someone asked for a specific example of the red herring fact checking that goes along with these fact checking sites. I’m reluctant to talk about it, ‘cuz, hey, I might embarrass the…, anyway I’m reluctant to talk about it on facebook, because, hey, the goal of the alleged leftist effort is, after all, to shut people up.

So, here’s how it works:

I ask you this question: “I’ve heard there’s an unusual discrepency with the President’s social security number, is that true?”

Being the great niece or nephew you are, you quickly fire off a link to Snopes, with the comment, “that’s been thoroughly debunked. quit forwarding me this stuff!”

So I click the link, and being the kind of guy who looks at the url, I notice the word “birthers” in the address. Hmm, I wonder. I was just wondering if it was true if there was anything anamoulous about the social security number, that seems kind of rude. So, I browse the headline, and get onto the meat of the thing, and I notice something: Nowhere in the article does it dispel the rumour I’m trying to confirm, in fact, it seems to confirm that there is a discrepency. I didn’t ask anything about anyone else having shared the same number.

So, I don’t know who shared the email about the number once belonging to someone else, but what my well-intentioned niece or nephew just did was a) lump me in a group that is almost universally derided, and b) make me question their reading comprehension. actually, that was probably c), but it came to mind, so I wrote it down. So, b) didn’t answer my question.

“The man who used to have that social security number” is the red herring. The answer to the question I asked was “yes, there is something out of the ordinary”, and the response I got was “oh, those crazy birthers”.

Leave a Reply

