Just A Southern Rock Fan

I was volunteering at Hope for Haiti one day, when a TV crew was scheduled to show up and do their thing. I happened to be wearing my Skynyrd tee-shirt. I was quickly given a Hope For Haiti tee to put on. I thought it was a little ironic, here I am at a charity that helps a nation of almost exclusively blacks who had descended from a slave revolt, wearing a shirt with a symbol some take to represent slavery. “You don’t like Lynyrd Skynyrd?” I asked as I swapped out shirts.

 

I was picking up a new tailgate cable at the dealership with my black nephew, wearing the same Skynyrd shirt. I got a few strange looks.

Leave a Reply

