America Gives Up

I like Marco Rubio. Even though it’s been years since I’ve last worked with a Muslim, I liked my Muslim co-worker, a nice polite man from Nigeria. But it seems like if I were to say anything about Rubio’s immigration plan, or whether or not I thought The United States had a vested interest in limiting the number of Muslims who were allowed to immigrate to the U.S., well, shun that nonsense. I can only venture the reasons: “we need the Muslim vote”, (no, we don’t. In fact, if Muslim faith is where terrorists come from, we should want *less* of their votes). “You hate Muslims”, (no, I don’t. I hate the ideology that leads to more terrorist acts on Earth than any other ideology I can name).

Meanwhile, I think the whole immigration reform business now being considered is America giving up. We can’t control who becomes a citizen, it seems they’re saying, so anyone can.

Leave a Reply

