It’s About Power

Blanket statements rarely cover every case, I think. For instance, I often read “rape isn’t about sex, it’s about power”, and think, yes, in a lot of cases that’s probably true. But, then, well, what do I know, really about it? Not much. In my case, I think that the guy who attacked me, it was probably more about power than sex. But I don’t have any way of knowing, like so many other questions a victim of a hateful crime is left pondering in the aftermath. I suspect I was targeted because of my blonde hair and blue eyes in a neighbourhood of dark skin and brown eyes. I don’t think the guy was turned on by me as a little boy, I think he just wanted to take his frustrations about how he felt about people of my complexion out on a vulnerable person who fit the description.

 

Meh, I don’t want to write about this right now.

Leave a Reply

