Practice

Ever since learning the word semantics, I’ve been a believer in the power of words to shape thinking. And as with anything, being a believer and a practitioner are two different things. I’m aware of some negative things in my life, that I probably have more control over than I realise, but I have to admit, I sort of succumb to the negativity, and become paralyzed and seemingly unable to act.

 

Negative words often dominate my thinking, and I have a pretty good idea of where the negativity is coming from, I just haven’t yet acted to separate myself from the source. 

While I don’t want to dwell on it, I figure I might as well write it down. Just a marker: here’s where I am, at the moment. Latest words repeating in my mind “the negativity is stifling my creativity”. I have a lot of fun things I’d like to be working on right now, but I just don’t have the space yet to comfortably create. And so the projects get put on permanent suspension. The thing is, I need to start making the efforts to change that environment, and that’s where I really haven’t done anything. Instead, I just dwell on the negative feelings I have about the situation. It’s obviously got to change, if I ever want to have any fun in my life.

Leave a Reply

