Caucasianism, Masculism

I have to admit, I’m pretty weary of reading about feminism. I’m not against some of its stated goals, but the whole Sandra Fluke thing sort of made me believe the movement has become just another Give Me Free Stuff movement. While I’m personally against having anything to do with abortion, I’ve never argued that it should be illegal. I’ve simply said I want no part of it, and that includes being forced to pay for it through government coercion.

I think it’s sad that we’ve been forced to choose between all of these labels, but I’m left with the realisation that white men, straight ones, especially, really don’t have much political sway in the arguments of the day. This doesn’t involve you, they’ll say. 

Well, if there’s nothing wrong with being a feminist, then there’s nothing wrong with being a masculinist. If there’s nothing wrong with “Black Power” or “Latino Power”, then there’s nothing wrong with being a Caucasianist. I pretty much resisted going this route, but since what I have to say seems pretty inconsequential, any way, why not. It wasn’t really by choice, it was more a matter of being backed into a corner.

Leave a Reply

