Presentation

Not sure how well congealed these thoughts are, but the seed of it is, how important presentation is in the larger scheme of things. I wouldn’t say I’m well versed in it, but I start to see it everywhere once I become aware of it. It’s all about little things. Details that don’t seem to matter much that really make a difference. Here’s an example from a little side project I worked on recently.

I spend a fair amount of time in thrift stores, trying to find presentable clothes to wear. I found a long sleeve shirt, that well, I figured might make a nice shirt to wear to some of the family dinners out that we have. I wore it once, in the summer, and it was way too hot, and I suffered for it. Tossed it aside, and didn’t give it much thought. I recently had a small welding job, where I knew I would have to be working overhead, and so started thinking about making some leather welding sleeves. Decided I didn’t do enough welding to justify using up what little leather I have laying around waiting for the right project to come along. The day I went to do the job, on my way out the door, somehow remembered the shirt I bought. It had an open pocket, which is a great way to start a fire where you don’t want to, but other than that, it fit the bill. Something with sleeves. Shirt looked a little wrinkly, but I tossed it in the truck. Once I threw it on, and after closing the pocket with a piece of duct tape, I realised I had a pretty near perfect shirt for the task at hand. Not only functional, it looked the part. Now, I haven’t welded much in probably around 15 to 18 years, so my confidence wasn’t all that high. But I have done enough of the work professionally that I have a pretty good idea of what it’s about. By looking the part, it gave me a little extra confidence, and I think it probably helped put the client at ease also.

That’s just one very small example. Like I said, once you start thinking about it, you start to see it everywhere. That’s not even how me coming to write about it came about, I was thinking of something completely different, but I felt like throwing a couple hundred words at the topic, maybe to revisit later.

Leave a Reply

