Skeptical

A few months before I left Atlanta for Albuquerque, I was out driving around one Saturday, and found myself in a Bally’s fitness. Salesman walked me around the place, it looked decent, and I had all of their ads of fit women in my head, and said, why not? So we filled out the paperwork. Before signing the final authorisation to bill my credit card, I asked “I’m moving to Albuquerque, New Mexico in a couple months, is there a Bally’s fitness there?” “Oh, yes, we have places all over the country.” I asked this 2 or 3 times, each time answered with the same reply. So, I signed up. Never set foot in the one in Georgia again. A few months later, I was in Albuquerque, and called ’em up. “Where is the Bally’s fitness in Albuquerque?” “The closest one is in Colorado Springs, Colorado.” was the answer. Well, I was pissed. I called to cancel, but they would not stop billing my credit card. I called the credit card company and told them to stop charges from them. Pretty soon I started getting phone calls at my new job from collection agencies. I’m sure my credit score took a hit.

So, when people try to sell me something I’m not sure that I need, I’m very skeptical. The more they push, the more cautious I become.

Leave a Reply

