Bonita Springs High School

Will it happen? I don’t know. I know I’ve been thinking about it a lot. I had to do the old “conflict of interest” analysis before moving to the next step, of course. I suppose I determined I am a biased source on this particular topic, and that gave me long pause. I know there are a lot of good reasons for it. I’m not locally invested enough to weigh in and be taken seriously, so it all leaves me in a bit of a conundrum. Yes, I certainly see how having county money flow into a state of the art school could potentially benefit the local community. I understand, also, that my thinking is being affected by the only source of information I have on the proposed project. (that’s where the COI thing comes into play.) It’s really the logistics of making it happen that have me puzzled. I don’t know how any of this works. I understand the need, a little. I mean, I haven’t spent a whole lot of time in the hot ladies parades dropping of kids at schools, but I’ve spent a little. I get that parents want to drop off their kids in the best hands possible. Again, it’s the logistics thing that I don’t get. Is it 40 acres of that 160 acres on E. Terry, we’re talking about? How many students are we talking about bussing in and out of there every day? That’s not exactly going to create some serious bottlenecks, is it? I’m all for having a state of the art school there, but I have questions about what that means to the city as a whole, as far as people just trying to navigate through their busy lives. As of now, I don’t even know for sure where the 40 acres is located. Kinda hard to move forward without knowing at least that. Meanwhile, the only person I know pushing for it isn’t even talking to me lately. Dunno. Seems important to her, but who am I to say? I just commute around and work in the area. I don’t have kids going to school. Who am I to weigh in on decisions like these, any way? I certainly want my friend to be happy. She’s got good reasons for wanting the school. But I’m in the dark as to the specifics of what is going on. I’m just left thinking about what would make someone who doesn’t even talk to me anymore happy. Not sure what the point in that is. Guess if I had kids, or was thinking about havin’ ’em, maybe I would understand more. Not there, yet.

Leave a Reply

