Florida’s Service Economy

I was standing in line at the gas station the other morning, along with about 25 other guys, and one nicely done up pretty lady who looked like she couldn’t wait to get out of there.

I thought there was some kind of analogy in there, but don’t know. I just find it enlightening, having worked a month or so in a service industry that caters to homeowners to see firsthand just how much of Florida’s economy is a service based economy. I see all of the new construction being built to house more people who can afford mini-mansions, and then when I commute home and think, are the people buying these homes going to be driving on the roads year round? Either way, right now I am seeing a lot of people who work in the service industry, building, selling, maintaining these high dollar homes. I suspect it has to do with low interest rates sparking investment, but I don’t really know much about that. I just feel like I’m witnessing a boom that as a service worker, I’m only seeing a small return on my investment in time, and wondering how I can put myself in a better position to capitalise on it.

Leave a Reply

