I Don’t Care If They Don’t Like Me. That’s Not My Job Description.

I get a lot of grief at work. Some of it, I probably have coming, but most of it is the kind of stuff that’d have a lot of people’s panties in a bunch, crying to the ACLU, or workplace harrassment board, or some kind of shit. I made up my mind early on. They will never accept me as one of their own. There is a strong cultural attitude against people like me ingrained in their culture. I simply decided it didn’t matter. I don’t care if they don’t like me. I wasn’t hired to be liked. Once I repeated that to myself enough times, it got easier to put up with. And in the long run, they end up liking me because I don’t care if they do or not. That’s my take on things today. Everything’s subject to revision.

Leave a Reply

