Cyberbullying On The Internet

cyberbullying

I have never heard or interacted with this person before. So why did this person decide to interject herself into my life? Because I posted this picture on a public event page:

2015-02-22 11.43.12

The picture shows two men putting a dead greyhound in a biohazard bag. The picture was reported to facebook as containing nudity.

Now, what in the hell is going on here?

While I personally don’t care for greyhound racing, I am not calling people who do it Nazis, I’m just expressing a difference in taste and opinion. I don’t paint people who raise and care for and race greyhounds as evil people, I just find dogs injured in the practise of racing to be pitiful creatures and I am sympathetic to their plight. At one point, I was looking forward to hearing from the people who raise the greyhounds to get their point of view on things. Instead, I find myself being reported to facebook by a group of people I’ve never once interacted with in any fashion.

So let’s look at the history of this thing. A group opposed to greyhound racing posts an event. A group of people who oppose the group starts a harassment campaign on the event page, which includes falsely accusing me of posting nude photos on facebook.

Let’s take a look at some legal definitions real quick.

http://www.expertlaw.com/library/personal_injury/defamation.html

Typically, the elements of a cause of action for defamation include:

  1. A false and defamatory statement concerning another;
  2. The unprivileged publication of the statement to a third party (that is, somebody other than the person defamed by the statement);
  3. If the defamatory matter is of public concern, fault amounting at least to negligence on the part of the publisher; and
  4. Damage to the plaintiff.

Leave a Reply

