The Lone Dissenting Vote

The other evening, I attended a city council meeting that included a vote on an upcoming development project that has probably been pretty much a foregone conclusion for awhile, now. I’m not one to judge on what I think about the project; the people that live in the city have money to spend, and I’m just one of the people who are trying to make a living from their good graces. But one thing out of the meeting that kind of made me smile, is there was one guy who cast a dissenting vote, in spite of the obvious forging ahead feeling of the whole affair. I had sort of kept an informal tally of the citizens’ comments during the public comment portion of the meeting, and the tally was pretty much even for and against. I just admired that there was one guy willing to put his face to a vote that was probably unpopular to those with the decision making power.

Leave a Reply

